OnlyGrace

ballet… February 13, 2007

Filed under: other — beyondtheoutside @ 10:00 PM

So, I’ve decided to go on with dancing. For those of you who don’t know, I have been having AWFUL knee problems because of dancing. They are in a lot of pain during and for 2-4 days after dancing. It’s getting pretty bad.
Heres the deal. On Oct 6, 2005, I went to a knee doctor. He took X-rays of my knees and hips (I had hip displasia when I was a baby, but they fixed it. We thought that still may have something to do with it). At that point it wasn’t too bad and it was mostly my right knee. I’d never felt pain in my hips. He gave me exercises, told me when I stopped growing I’d be alright and to just do the exercises and continue dancing. He said I’d be better in 3 months if I did the exercises. I did them faithfully. That didn’t work. The pain got worse to where it hurt to do anything after dancing.
I went to another doctor on October something, 2006. She said that I have to continue the exercises to strengthen my quad, which would make me knees better. She gave me a brace (for my right knee, which WAS the worse one) and also told me to ice my knees after dance classes. My hip (right) had also started hurting that year. She didn’t say anything about it. She, also, said when I’ stop growing my knees would be better. Well, considering I’ve been 4 11 1/2 for about a year or so, I think I’m done growing (and my doctor says I wont grow much more. Maybe a 1/2 inch). So I went home, feeling a little better.
Well now, 4 months later, I can’t walk up steps after classes. It’s getting pretty bad but it’ll be ok. No one wants me to drop out and I’m not really….allowed my some people. So I said I will keep going until I can’t. I decided once and for all. No more changing my mind. The only thing I am a little worried about is permanently hurting myself. So I’m doing my best to take care of myself, stay pain free (yay Advil!), dance, walk up steps, keep everyone happy, not drop out of ballet, not do what I can’t during classes and do what I was told to keep my knees healthy. So I’ll keep you posted on my knee situation, but I wanted to post about it so you all knew what was up.

Dear Lord,
Thank you for taking care of me. Thank you for my healthy body. I pray you’d help me take care of it!
In Jesus’ name,
-Amen!

That’s it…until next time…(10 days)
≈Mags≈

 

Leave a Reply

