OnlyGrace

Verses… July 24, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 11:24 AM

17 These are waterless springs and mists driven by a storm. For them the gloom of utter darkness has been reserved. 18 For, speaking loud boasts of folly, they entice by sensual passions of the flesh those who are barely escaping from those who live in error. 19 They promise them freedom, but they themselves are slaves of corruption. For whatever overcomes a person, to that he is enslaved. 20 For if, after they have escaped the defilements of the world through the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, they are again entangled in them and overcome, the last state has become worse for them than the first. 21 For it would have been better for them never to have known the way of righteousness than after knowing it to turn back from the holy commandment delivered to them. 22 What the true proverb says has happened to them: “The dog returns to its own vomit, and the sow, after washing herself, returns to wallow in the mire.” (ESV)

WOW. So think about that for a minute….Verse 21 states something very scary. It says that “for it would have been better for them never to have known the way of righteousness then after knowing it to turn back from the holy commandment…” Like, wow. For those who turn away from the Lord, after being saved, or knowing the way of truth, it would have been better for them to have NEVER known about the Lord….WOW. It makes me pretty sad.
More recently I’ve been coming across verses like that, stating how…well, things like vs 21 says. And it’s saddening. It really makes my spirit sad. I’m not sure why I’ve been coming across these verses, but I can only assume it’s a God-thing. It’s really cool though because it’s showing me what to avoid and it brings people to mind. And I’ve been able to talk about these verses with them, and they really start to think…
So I’m not sure what God’s doing, but it’s pretty coool…
Oh, and as far as the people he brings to mind, I was praying for them and then turned to Job 6:14 which says: 14 “A despairing man should have the devotion of his friends,
even though he forsakes the fear of the Almighty.” (NIV)
When I read that I was like “uh, God…what do you want me to learn from this?” And after reading it again and again, I was just sort of taught that God wants me to love those people and be devote to them as friends, even though they might not be fearing the Lord. But then I was really confused. I’m like, “hold up God. If these people aren’t fearing you, should these be the people I’m devoted to as friends? I mean, just last week you were showing me how I need to be careful and watch my life, including my friends…Please explain!!!” And i just heard one word:WISDOM. So I guess I can be devoted to them as friends, but being wise as to how much time I spend with them and how I act and speak and all around them….tricky situation.
Anyway, I’m outta here!
~Maggie..

 

2 Responses to “Verses…”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Awesome! It’s great to see the Lord speaking to your situation through scripture. Shows how loving he is, and how much he cares about you.

  2. ianmcleod Says:

    Maggie, the verses you cite from 2nd Peter 2:17-22 is refering to false teachers. They possess some knowledge of Christ: they have an intellectual knowledge of the gospel. But they pervert that knowledge and use it for their own aggrandizement: to promote themselves in order to attain the applause of men and/or to accumulate wealth i.e. Oral Roberts, Benny Hinn, Jim Baker etc., etc., etc. For those false bretheren, it would have been better that they remained ignorant of the gospel than to be guilty of perverting it. One of the ways we can detect false teachers is that they fall back into a pattern of sinful living. This is what is meant in vss 20-22. Those who are God’s elect cannot be “again entangled in them [and] overcome [in their defilements]” (NASB) for they are eternally cleansed by the blood of Christ.

    I once knew a young lady who professed Christ and went about witnessing to her co-workers. Within a year, she destroyed that witness by renouncing Christ, embracing the homosexual lifestyle and returning to her former occupation as a topless dancer. She was an example of someone who like “‘A dog [returned] to its own vomit…'” Her profession was a false one; she was never truly redeemed. “They went out from us, but they were not really of us; for if they had been of us, they would have remained with us; but they went out, so it would be shown that they all are not of us.” 1st Jo 2:19

    As for these people, we should pray that the Lord softens their hearts, so that they truly receive Christ as their Lord and Savior. For in their current state, they are doubly damned in the eyes of God.


Leave a Reply

