OnlyGrace

Commissioned ’08. July 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 11:09 AM

So, Commissioned was just AMAZING. 
After Pastor Greg gave his little message about how to use the “How good are you?” tract, Pastor Matt gave us two questions to talk about over lunch with people. 
The first: What are you most nervous/scared about in relation to Commissioned? 
The second: What are you hoping to see God accomplish these next few days?

He asked us to sit with people we might not usually sit with to get to know them. There were only 15 of us and I knew most people, but thought I’d sit with some people I wasn’t so close with. I went over to the right table and sat down. Jeremy, Paul, Aaron, Mike, Phil and I were there. It was a little weird first, so I finally asked one of the questions. No one answered. Again, awkward. I figured I’d answer it. I said that my answer to the first question was that I was scared about going out to the Inner Harbor and sharing the Gospel with the tracks. Now, I’m a pretty outgoing and friendly person, so it wasn’t the talking to people that bothered me. I was just really scared someone was going to ask me a question and I wasn’t going to know the answer. That was really scaring me. Someone agreed with me then others began to share. Some said they were scared of rejection, others said that they wouldn’t know what to say, etc.
The second question was asking about what we were expecting God to do for us there. So then I asked my table that question. I can’t really remember too much of what people said, truthfully. *If you were @ my table and you remember what you said, comment with what your answer was. I said that personally, I had two things. The first was that I would just get like the-um, that I would learn how to share the gospel in that way. I’ve shared the gospel with people, but never like this. Now, this prayer/expectation had sorta already been met because Pastor Greg just taught us how to use the tract. So I was excited about that. The second thing was just that I would have an increase passion for the lost. After taking the Heaven/Hell/Eternity class @ church recently, my passion had grown. I wanted it to grow more through this experience. 
I just wanted to share with you guys how those things were answered and stuff. 
Well, first off, with the thing I shared about being nervous about someone asking a question I didn’t know the answer to. I was never asked a question like that. The whole time I was talking to people, I wasn’t even nervous about that. God just gave me an intense peace about that. Plus, I was on a tag-team with Dan Bilmanis so I wasn’t so nervous that if a question was asked that I didn’t know the answer to, I figured Dan probably would know what to say. 
I learned, like I said before, from Pastor Greg, how to share the gospel in a cold turkey setting. So that prayer-answered. 
My passion for the lost is SO much bigger! I didn’t even know I could have a passion for the lost like I have now! After being rejected and seeing people so stuck in their sinful ways, I realized how much our country is in desperate news of the Gospel of Jesus Christ! Some people were open to hear what we had to say about the gospel and that also grew my passion-there are people out there ready to come to Christ and they just dont know the good news! That’s terrible! So that prayer-DEFINITELY answered!
But God didn’t stop there. God is so much bigger than I tend to think. I was underestimating the Power of Jesus Christ’s message!! 
When we went to the Perry Hall fair, many people signed up for VBS! We’d been praying for that and the Lord graciously granted us that! Going to VBS everyday now is a joy because I’m seeing people from the fair and parks that signed up for VBS! I pray, and ask that you would also, that VBS is really getting the Gospel message out to these children and their parents. I pray that the parents would love the church and want to come visit on Sundays! I know the Lord is powerful and can do that-So I pray He will!
God also just brought our team SO close. I mean, if you weren’t there, you cannot understand. But listen, people I didn’t even talk to or know more than like name and stuff-We are like best friends! I have like 13 new best friends! All of the people on the team are passionate for Christ and seeing His message proclaimed across the earth. I was so encourage by how close we all got. I mean, the night I went home I was missing people I didn’t even talk to before! We are all super tight and have like 5,000 inside jokes. *Mmmm, SCRUFFY?* *Did you change your mind yet?* Anyway, it was a blast! I didn’t expect to have that much fun, but it was awesome. The Lord also changed my heart there because, truthfully, when I heard there were only going to be 15 people-including adults and Pastor Matt, I was discouraged. But that was wrong! I was, again, underestimating the Lord. He wanted 15 people on the team for a reason! He worked SOOO powerfully through just the mere 15 of us sinners.
I was also just really encouraged by doing Commissioned. Watching how the two 13 year old boys just preached the gospel, let us girls eat first, opened doors, took tents from me because it was heavy, and stepped up in their leadership-it made me want to cry. I was so incredibly encouraged by that. Seeing one of the other quieter guys just sharing Christ’s message to people openly humbled me. Seeing how the Lord brought us girls together as really close friends, it just amazed me. I think the Lord wanted to remind me that He is mighty and he just renewed my awe of Him and what He does. So team, well the few of you that have Facebooks, thank you! I was so blessed to be on a team with you and I am thanking the Lord that He allowed each of you to come to Commissioned and become one of the Commissioned family. 
So, that is, in part, Commissioned. There are many stories I could tell and testimonies I could share, but I’ll stop there. God worked in all of our lives and through each one of us retched sinners. PRAISE GOD. 
-Mag.

 

4 Responses to “Commissioned ’08.”

  1. janetboylan Says:

    So, did any of the VBS families come to church on Sunday? I wasn’t there, you have to fill me in.

  2. ~M Says:

    Woohooo Maggie!

  3. Maggie Says:

    There were a few families who came, but not a majority. The church did seem really full though. A lot of people that we gave fliers to @ Commissioned said they wanted to come to the volleyball picnic though, so i’ll be interested to see if I recognize any of the people.

  4. ~M Says:

    It is pretty awesome to see how the 4:16 class on Heaven is still affecting you :o).


Leave a Reply

