OnlyGrace

SHINE! July 22, 2008

Filed under: God showed/taught me/ect — beyondtheoutside @ 10:39 PM

I’ve been doing Beachmont these past two days…and will be for the next two weeks. The kids are CRAZY! I love them all though. Good times, good times. 

On the way to camp this morning, I was listening to this song…It’s called Shine by the Newsboys. It’s an older song, but a good one. I dont think I’ve ever REALLY listened to this song. I usually just sing along without thinking about the words. This time though, I thought about it.. Skim over the lyrics. At least look @ the chorus.

Dull as dirt
you can’t assert
the kinda light that might persuade
a strict dictator to retire
fire the army,
teach the poor origami
the truth is in
the proof is when you hear your heart start asking
What’s my motivation?
And try as you may
there isn’t a way
to explain the kinda change
that would make an eskimo renounce fur
that would make a vegetarian barbeque hamster
unless you can trace this about-face to a certain sign

shine
make em wonder whatcha got
make em wish that they were not
on the outside looking bored
shine
let it shine before all men
let em see good works and then
let em glorify the lord

Out of the shaker and onto the plate
it isn’t karma it sure ain’t fate
that would make a deadhead sell his van
that would make a schizophrenic turn in his crayons
Oprah freaks
and science seeks
a rationale that shall excuse this strange behavior
when you let it shine
you will inspire the kind of entire turnaround
that would make a bouncer take ballet
even bouncers who arent happy
but out of the glare
with nowhere to turn
you ain’t gonna learn it on “What’s my Line?”

Shine
make em wonder whatcha got
make em wish that they were not
on the outside looking bored
shine
let it shine before all men
let em see good works and then
let em glorify the lord
 

I like that line: Shine, make them wonder what you got. That is something I’ve been working on recently with this one situation. Speaking the gospel without words. Sharing where I am but how I still feel peace and joy in the crap of my life. The person is wondering why I facing the same things she is, but why I’m not responding the way. She’s asking questions. It’s cool to see how the Lord can use us to further His kingdom by doing the smallest things. I’ve been just telling Him and crying out that I am His, USE me, do what would best glorify HIM and dont let me do anything that goes against that. I want to be used by Him for Him and His gloryo anyway, that song really encouraged me today. =) I want to SHINE for HIM and I want them to wonder- “what is different?” and I want to be able to say, bodly, that JESUS is the difference!!! It says in Deuteronomy 31:6 (OT, Janet!):
Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you. 
That’s what my prayer is..being strong and courageous for Him and knowing that I can do that because His is the one who goes with me and He wont leave me!!! Anyway, that’s what I’ve been thinking about today at camp. 
It was a good thing to keep in mind @ camp too actually. It’s a Christian camp, but there still aren’t too many opportunities to plainly share the gospel with the children besides devotions in the AM. So just trying to SHINE in the small, everyday things I do at camp is a good thing to try to do….It is hard though and I know I’m not being the best example I could be…but I’m trying and by God’s grace hopefully I can portray Christ through my actions and attitudes!
 

3 Responses to “SHINE!”

  1. ~M Says:

    I love “Be strong and courageous.”

    My favorite line in the Bible (for encouragement).

  2. janetboylan Says:

    What’s the “(OT, Janet)”, is that me? haha.

  3. beyondtheoutside Says:

    because you said you’re starting to read the Old testament!


Leave a Reply

