OnlyGrace

Do Hard Things July 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 8:10 PM

So, this conference was AMAZING. If you didn’t, you should regret that. Following are some notes and stuff I took from the conference. 

They’re just small little notes I took…*Some stuff you may not understand unless you were there or have read the book…

 

SESSION 1-Alex.

*Teen years and NOT a bunch of years to fool around and have fun-rather, they are a launching pad for the rest of your life.

*What has changed in the last 100 years that has made us teens go from where we were to where we are?People’s expectations of teens have gone WAY down.

*Adolescence-To grow up (dictionary)
Adolescence-Foolish yeas that hold us back from what God has planned for us (Our culture)

*After child labor laws were abolished, the kids were removed from work and kids had to go to school through HS. It changed the role of teens from workers/consumers to just  consumers. Standards and expectations were lowered.

*Not only are there low expectaions set for us teens, but we then lower ourselves to meet those.                   -This really really really hit me.

*”The ceiling is where the floor should be”-regarding expectations, or lack thereof for teens. 

*1 Corinthians 14:20

*We are expected to be proficient in things of the world-like shows, movies, music, sex, styles, etc. Other things like studying the word of God, speaking the gospel to others and spending time daily with the Lord are not expected. 

*Not only does the Bible say not to be looked down upon because of our age, it says we are to be EXAMPLES for people.

*1 tim 4:12

*Who’s expectations am I living by?

*We think we are getting away with something by the way we live, but really we are robbing ourselves of so much. 

*There is really only a rope around our right leg-but chains around our mind (If you were there, you get this)

*It’s only going to take ONE step and the twine will break (again…had to be there)

*George, David & Clara didn’t start out big (president, red cross founder), they did HARD things to get to where they were.

*You can become what you want if you strive for that

SESSION 2-Brett

*Brett used to Hate taking showers-but now it’s second nature-what has changed? If we continually do something-everyday, we will start doing it by habit.

*The big challenges I’m facing are no more difficult than other things I’ve faced in my life. It’s like a 4 yr old holding 10 lbs and a 18 yr old holding 150. It IS heavier, but they’re bigger too. It’s the same idea.

*What the difference between how I handled things as a kid and how I handle things now?

*We like what comes easily to us but stepping out of our comfort zone is where the real victories happen.

*Why are babies forced to talk, but teens are not able to break the communication barrier between them and their parents? Because one is expected, one is not

*It sickens me personally to know that I live in a culture that expects more of babies than me. 

*Have I REALLY reached my limits?

*Am I just @ a point where all my peers are no longer expected to do anything more-so I just follow along?

*Imagine the what the Lord can do with my life if I just stop living with these chains around my mind!!!

*Am I REALLY being all that God wants me to be?

*Am I like the third servant in the Bible story that just keeps his talents and does nothing to mulitply them?

*God doesn’t call us to do everything-but he DOES call us to do SOMETHING. He expects us to bring him glory and to do hard things

*A DO HARD THINGS mentality would like like this (7 things):
1)Fighting sin in your life-trampling it.

This would mean actively, intentionally fighting sin. 

2)Battling discouragement and complacency

-Discouragement: Being dishearted about who I am. Its not a matter of something out of our control. We can do this-but it’s HARD.

-Complacency:Feeling smug about who I am and what I’ve done. When things come easy and you get comfortable. You ask “why push myself?” God’s standard is for you to be holy like him and to work to our best ability-constant growth. It’s like that so we can have no excuses. It is NOT a matter of arriving-but constantly growing. There are always harder things. 

-Weight illustration-I need to get weights that are hard for ME. Maybe only doing 3 pushups is a workout for me-but I need to do three because that’s what will work me. 

-What’s hard for me could be easy for others and what’s easy for me could be hard for others-its different for everyone. 

3)Doing more than is required

-DON’T JUST MAKE IT. The Vikings-they rode themselves into battle. This says they were strong! DO HARD THINGS-It WILL pay off. If I do what other neglect, I will become strong. I have to ride myself to battle-then I will have the strength to fight in the battles and win. I have to grow muscles-mental, spiritual and physical. If I fail in doing hard things, it is not because I CAN’T-it’s because I haven’t prepared.

-Rebelling against low expectations for God’s glory!!!!

4)Getting over our fear of failures

-Anything worth doing is worth failing at at first. Failure is never wasted if we learned to go to God because of that. 

-IT’S OKAY TO FAIL AT HARD THINGS.

-All effort produces muscle

5)Doing Hard Things looks different for everyone. 

-Do what is hard for ME. 

-Ask the Lord what is HARD for me and what HARD things I can do to bring him glory.

-Hard things-Looks different for men and women. Some for men only. Some for only women. 

-ASK an older woman what some things are that are hard for women. Answer I got: Submission to male authority, modesty.

-We are each gifted differently so bring glory to God in whatever way I can!

6) Doing Hard Things often means doing SMALL things.

-Often, small stuff is the hardest because it is NOT usually being expected

-Small things take character

-Take on small battles-they will build muscle

-Embrace my oar (Vikings…) so I can yield my sword later.

-Small things prepare us for God to use us for bigger things.

-Bigger CAN mean heavier, but it can mean holding something small for longer.

7)Doing hard things is you best life

-This does NOT mean easiest.

-“The Christian ideal has not been found lacking it has been found difficult”

SESSION 4-GREG HARRIS

*It’s the nature of the tree that determines the fruit

*Luke 6:43

*Ezekial 36:25-27

*Jeremiah 13

*Matthew 12:33

**To be a good tree, our heart mus change

*EVery command of God is to protect us and for our benefit

*If you believe God is good, his will seems good to us also

*John 3

*Heart=wanter-I want what I want and I cant change what I want-simply because I dont WANT to.

*You can go through the motions without your heart being in it

*My nature defines my desires

*Wolf-Meat

*Lamb-grass 

*They are bound by nature. They have choices of meat/grass-but bound by nature. Likewise, we are bound by our nature

*Only God can change what I REALLY want 

*1 John 3:10-Not insulting-discribing

*You can tell what you’re practicing

*If you believe, you will practice

*Apple tree/crab apple? Lamb/wolf?

*2 Tim 3:1

*Matthew 24:12

SESSION 5: ALEX, GREG, BRETT HARRIS

*2 Tim 2:22

*Work together and you can carry more

*Working together is good for encouragement

*Ecc 4:12

*Proverbs 24:17

*Proverbs 15:33

*We need to surround ourselves with those old than ourselves also

*Eph 6:1-3

*Books, Mag, TV, Radio, websites and etc are also our companions

*Evaluate my technological companions 

*If we want to walk with the wise, we need to choose our companions.

::::7 HARD THINGS TO DO IN THE NEXT MONTH::::
 1)Have a hero

-Human shaped hero

-Many heros, but one special, #1 hero

2)Read

-“Those who never read will never be read. Those who never quote will never be quoted”-C. Spurgeon

3)Take advantage of the Rebellution

-Website

-Book

-Blog

-Discussion forms

4)Find secret Rebelutionaries

-Be an obvious rebellutionary so that other will follow and ‘show themselves’

5)Seek out godly and wise people in my life

-ASK-What do you wish you knew at my age

-ASK to people who know you really well-what choices would you be making my life that I’m not making?

6)Know that God’s the biggest comforter

-Live and belong to God

-Do hard things to the glory of God

-Get to know God

7)CHANGE SOMETHING

-Changing something in your life requires changing something in your life!!!!

-Dont change something emotionally-change something structurally.

-Swimming in filth (culture)-Resolving to tread water forevermore. That is impossible. Changing something would look like going to the shallow end or getting out of the water. 

-Find a goal I can meet

-Rearrange my life. When rearranging-sometimes there isn’t room for all the stuff-so may have to go.

-Do something so that even if my mind changes, my actions wont.

 

***********************************************************************************************************

So, those are my notes. It’s kinda just little things I jotted down. I have LOTS of application and I’m still taking this all in!!!  I am trying to apply the things because some things I can apply immediately and I’m trying to do that. The conference was amazing and I hope I can better glorify the Lord now!

 

3 Responses to “Do Hard Things”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Maggie, thanks for putting your notes here. I didn’t take that many, so I’m glad I can be reminded through yours.

    I agree that the conference was AMAZING. I, too, am still trying to take everything in and am making changes that are possible to make now.

  2. Wow, that’s a lot of notes! But it’s good stuff. 🙂 I was also at the conference and loved every minute. 🙂

  3. Brianna Says:

    Hey fellow Rebelutionary!! I went to the conference too….it WAS amazing! Thanks for posting notes…this is such a vital message to share!

    Brianna


Leave a Reply

