OnlyGrace

Something Greater. . . October 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 8:23 PM

Matthew 12:40-42 (English Standard Version)

“40For(A) just as Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of the great fish,(B) so will the Son of Man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth. 41(C) The men of Nineveh will rise up at the judgment with this generation and(D) condemn it, for(E) they repented at the preaching of Jonah, and behold,(F)something greater than Jonah is here. 42(G) The queen of the South will rise up at the judgment with this generation and condemn it, for she came from the ends of the earth to hear the wisdom of Solomon, and behold,(H) something greater than Solomon is here.”

 

Okay, so I was reading this a few months ago. Actually, I was thinking about this back on may 5th of this year. I was just thinking, about the parts that are in bold. I guess to me it was an encouragement, I thought about these people, Solomon and Jonah. These men were called by God to do great things with their lives. Sometimes when I think about them, I get intimidated. I think that I could never do the things they did. But after reading that I was thinking about how, you know, they didn’t do the great things themselves.  It wasn’t them there, something greater was there. And my prayer that morning was that God would remind me that it isn’t by my strength that He calls me to do hard things, something greater will be there. Something greater will be helping me, strengthening me and loving me. Anyway, those were my short thoughts. =)

 

Leave a Reply

