OnlyGrace

I believe. November 26, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 11:14 AM
Tags: , ,

This song, I believe in love, by Barlowgirl, is one of my recent favorites.

How long will my prayers seem unanswered?
Is there still faith in me to reach the end?
I’m feeling doubt I’m losing faith
But giving up would cost me everything
So I’ll stand in the pain and silence
And I’ll speak to the dark night
-Love this part. First of all, I love that it says prayers “seem” unanswered. My prayers never go unanswered. Maybe the answer is no, but that does not mean that God did not answer me. Sometimes I am simply being stubborn and I refuse to listen for the answer because I am scared it will not be the answer I want. I love that they remind me that I can give up on even trying to believe and find that faith again, but that it would cost me everything. I love the last line of this verse. “I’ll speak to the dark night.” Growing up at the church I did, I have always been told to “speak to myself.” Speaking to the dark night is important for me. I have to speak to the darkness and trouble to tell myself, and the enemy, that I refuse to believe the lies that I am being fed. Not only speak against lies, but speak real truth to myself. Yes, speak, outloud, with words. I will choose to believe.

I believe in the sun even when it’s not shining
I believe in love even when I don’t feel it
And I believe in God even when He is silent
And I, I believe
-I think that the comparisons that they have in the chorus are really good and oh so true. When the sun is either behind a cloud or has gone to bed for the night and the moon is what I see, I do not ever think that the sun is gone or that it has dissapeared. I simply cannot see it. When the sun is behind a cloud during the day even, it is not dark outside. I cannot always find the sun in the sky, but I cannot deny the fact that it is there because it is light out. It’s the same way with God. I cannot deny the fact that he is living and here because if I look around, it is proof that there IS a God. Whether or not I choose to believe the truth of God in that moment does not depend on if the truth remains. “I believe in God even when He is silent.” Amen. It may not be that He is silent, but that I am not listening. But either way, I choose to believe.
Though I can’t see my stories ending
That doesn’t mean the dark night has no end
It’s only here that I find faith
And learn to trust the one who writes my days
So I’ll stand in the pain and silence
And I’ll speak to the dark night
-It’s true, not one of us can say that we know how our life story will end. Although there are rough times in life, it doesn’t mean that it wont end. There is always always always a light at the end of the tunnel-even if you aren’t close enough to the end to even see that light yet. I love the 4th line of this verse. I am learning to trust the one who writes my days. Thinking about it, it does not make any sense that I would have to learn to trust Him. He knows what He is doing-He is in control of it all so worrying will not make a difference in my life. If I can even somewhat grasp and understand that He is writing my life story, trusting Him will be so much easier. Until then, I will choose to believe.
I believe in the sun even when it’s not shining
I believe in love even when I don’t feel it
And I believe in God even when He is silent
And I, I believe
No dark can consume Light
No death greater than this life
We are not forgotten
Hope is found when we say
Even when He is silent
-“No death greater that this life.” That’s a very profound truth.
“We are not forgotten.” Saying that to myself over and over is a powerful thing and a truth that I do not ever want to grow old. I will choose to believe the truth.

 

 

Okay, that’s all 🙂 Back to finishing my paper that is due at four and I’m almost done 😀

 

 

Leave a Reply

