OnlyGrace

How Many Kings would do that for me? Only one. December 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 2:25 PM

 

 

 

So you must watch this video right now. Actually, you don’t even need to watch it, just listen to the song.

Here are the lyrics:

DOWNHERE LYRICS – How Many Kings

Follow the star to a place unexpected
Would you believe after all we’ve projected
A child in a manger

Lowly and small, the weakest of all
Unlikeliness hero, wrapped in his mothers shawl
Just a child
Is this who we’ve waited for?

Cause how many kings, stepped down from their thrones?
How many lords have abandoned their homes?
How many greats have become the least for me?
How many Gods have poured out their hearts
To romance a world that has torn all apart?
How many fathers gave up their sons for me?

Bringing our gifts for the newborn savior
All that we have whether costly or meek
Because we believe
Gold for his honor and frankincense for his pleasure
And myrrh for the cross he’ll suffer
Do you believe, is this who we’ve waited for?
It’s who we’ve waited for

How many kings, stepped down from their thrones?
How many lords have abandoned their homes?
How many greats have become the least for me?
How many Gods have poured out their hearts
To romance a world that has torn all apart?
How many fathers gave up their sons for me?
Only one did that for me

All for me
All for you
All for me
All for you

Single Song Words by Artist / Band : DOWNHERE
Lyrics Title : How Many Kings

If you know me, you know I hate Christmas (or if you read the post before this one. . .) I hate Christmas music especially. I have to admit that I really like this song though. It’s the closest thing to Christmas music that I will get. I really like the chorus especially. At Christmas, in the Christian community, I feel that different people/churches focus on different parts of the story of salvation during this season. At the play at my church yesterday it was a lot about like Christ being the savior and how we need to be saved. I would fully agree with that, but this year I have been focusing right where this song is focused. I’ve been meditating on and thinking a lot about and trying to grasp Christ’s love and how he humbled himself to come to earth. I mean, I would go to heaven without a question if I had the option right now (without like dying, you know). Christ was in heaven and chose to come to earth. God was with his son for eternity and chose to send him away from his right side. That is incredible. As I think about this truth and love, I think about how all the other idols I allow in my life-don’t do that. None of my idols, whether people or things, are even worth comparing. The material things in my life don’t care about me. The people that I allow to become my idols, they don’t love me nearly as much as Christ does, they wouldn’t sacrifice what Christ did for me. I just love thinking about that. I cannot help but smack myself upside the head for allowing those things to come be first in my life. How crazy and unwise of me!
I also love the line in the song where they talk about bringing our gifts, whatever we have, because we believe. So often I don’t bring myself or my praise to the Lord soley because I believe. I guess that idea of bringing gifts to bless, because we believed. Thinking about it, these shepards, the lowly people in the ranks, they saw Christ first. Though he was just a baby, they believed. The three wise men, they brought gifts to this little baby, born into a poor family in a stable and wrapped in a cloth. The wise men brought gifts because they believed. I know the entire story of Christ’s coming and everything and I still have doubt and disbelief at times. The wise men and shepards had no real reason to believe that this baby was the savior, messiah, coming king. I mean, wow. That’s all I have to say. I pray that I will one day have the faith of the shepards and wise men.
Alright, well those were my thoughts about this Christmas song 🙂

Best picture of King Jesus that I could find.
Best picture of “King Jesus” that I could find. MY king Jesus.

 

One Response to “How Many Kings would do that for me? Only one.”

  1. Steve Says:

    This is one of my favorite songs, too. I used to think little of the fact that God came to earth. It was just the story you heard every year of your life, glamorized with a beautiful scene of a young Mary and Joseph cohabiting a comfy stable with rich gifts from wise men. The reality, though, as you’ve pointed out, is that God sent Jesus to be born into a world riddled with sin, and in a disgusting feeding troth for farm animals. Amazing stuff!

    Thanks for posting these lyrics (always helps to see them apart from the music), and sharing your thoughts along with them. Continue to marvel at the incarnation, it’s awesome 🙂


Leave a Reply

