OnlyGrace

Standards and Hypocrisy December 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 12:12 PM

The past two days I have been doing lots of thinking about standards and hypocrisy. While talking with a friend yesterday she graciously pointed out that I hold other people to such high standards, but I don’t hold myself to those standards. Example 1: I expect other people not to lie to me, but I lie to myself about 90% of the day. When she brought this to my attention and asked me to chew on that, it really got me thinking. I don’t really have too much to say about it at this point, because I am still trying to figure out why I allow myself to do what I hate others doing. Example 2: I hate other manipulating me and I do everything I can to protect myself from that (sometimes I’m too overly cautious). Although I say I hate that, I allow myself to manipulate myself into doing all sorts of things. There are numerous examples I could pull out, but there is no need to do that. I am just trying to figure out why I have this habit.

In some strange way am I protecting myself by doing these things to myself?
Is it possible I am trying to punish myself f by doing them?
Maybe I am trying to show myself why I hate it so much?
Maybe I don’t like others doing it, not so much because I have been hurt by people who have done those things to me, but because I myself do those things to myself?

Those are just some things I am thinking about.

 

 

One Response to “Standards and Hypocrisy”

  1. ~M Says:

    Good thoughts.

    I think this would be true for most of us.

    Not trying to give you an easy answer here, but we do things things because we are sinners… because of our pride. We want justice for others (holding others to high standards), but mercy for ourselves (not holding our own selves to the same standards).


Leave a Reply

