OnlyGrace

Resolutions Update :) January 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 8:27 PM

Update on my resolutions:
I have added two resolutions:
First one I added is that this year I want to have better posture. When I danced I really did have awesome posture and over the past two years it’s gotten bad. I want to sit up straight and hold my shoulders back. It will make me look taller and I just love seeing people sitting with good posture. I’m sure it’s good for my back and stuff too.
My second resolution that I added was that I want to be more of an encouragement. A reachable goal for me this year is to encourage at least one person a week. In writing, words, e-mail, or other means of communication, I would like to be more of an encouragement in the world. Hopefully I will encourage more than one person a week, but that is what I would like to do. I also know that when I encourage others it helps me because I have to usually see and point out the GOOD things in people and it helps me to be positive and not think so negatively while also helping me think of others and look for the good things in others and where God is working most in their life.
The number of books I will be reading is updated from 6 to 7. The list is as follows (and I will be reading them in this order):
1) Discipline of Grace-Jerry Bridges. I read this two years ago, but it is worth the re-read.
2) I will follow you, o God-Jerry Bridges
3)God’s big picture- Vaughan Roberts
4) Joy in Christ’s Presence- Charles Spurgeon
5) Desiring God- John Piper
6) Lord, I want to know you- Kay Arthur
7) Under God-Toby Mac and Michael Tait
These are all somewhat big books, so I’m hoping I will also read some other small or shorter books along with these (that will hopefully include The Gospel Primer-I’ve heard good things about that book. I’d also like to re-read Rachel’s Tears).

The Verses that I will be memorizing will be as follows:
Jan-
     Lamentations 3:22-23
     1 Peter 3:18
Feb-
     Ephesians 5:4
     Proverbs 22:3
March-
     Isaiah 40:28-29
     Acts 20:24
April-
     Ephesians 4:1-3
     Job 5:18
May-
     Isaiah 53:4-5
     Hebrews 10:24-25
June-
     Psalm 73:25-26
     James 3:17-18
July-
     John 16:33
     Isaiah 41:10
Aug-
     Galatians 2:20-21
     Psalms 94:18-19
Sept-
     John 14:1
     Joshua 1:9
Oct-
     Nahum 1:7
     Isaiah 66:2
Nov-
     Psalm 59:9-10
     Psalm 43:5
Dec-
     Proverbs 11:14
     Proverbs 19:20

Hopefully I will stick to all of this, but we will see. I am currently working on Lamentations 3:22-23 and 1 Peter 3:8. I plan to open up Discipline of Grace before bed tonight. Back to babysitting for me 🙂

 

One Response to “Resolutions Update :)”

  1. babyyeich Says:

    Hey Maggie, I’m thinking you need to read Total Forgiveness by R.T. Kendall. I think you’d get a lot out of it, I know I did.


Leave a Reply

