OnlyGrace

How amazing! February 5, 2009

Yeah, you guessed it, another song. I was listening to this when I was doing Bible today. . .And I should be doing Latin right now, but Latin and I are currently not speaking to each other (partially because I can’t understand anything it says to me…) and so I’m blogging because it’s the only thing I can think of to distract me from interacting with Latin, like I should be.
Anyway, back to the post. I haven’t posted all the lyrics, just the parts I like. The first four lines I posted are what made me wanna blog about this song. Song is called “Free to be Me” by Francesca Battistelli. Unfortunately, the CD with the song hasn’t been released yet so even though the song is on the radio, I can’t find any good versions online. So I posted a video of her doing it live. You have to skip the first minute or so because it’s just her talking about the song.

A war’s already waged for my destiny
But You’ve already won the battle
And You’ve got great plans for me
Though I can’t always see
-This made me think about my future. I feel that I have things planned out and I’m pretty confident they’re God’s plans, but every minute of my life, or so it seems, I feel that other things are trying to influence me, turn me from what God’s plans for my life are, and convince me that to do what I want because it would be more fun and rewarding. Although I know that’s a lie, it’s  an easy-to-buy-into lie. I have been saved though and I’m proud to say that God has won my battle. I have given him my life. He owns it. I don’t know what God wants to do with my life yet. It’s like there is a map, but it’s folded so I can only see where I am currently and where I have been. But God, He can see the whole thing and He knows when to unfold the map a little more so I know where to go. And He never folds back up where I have been-It’s so encouraging that I can always look back and see how far I’ve come and how faithful He’s been to show me exactly where to go and when.
(Chorus)
‘Cause I got a couple dents in my fender
Got a couple rips in my jeans
Try to fit the pieces together
But perfection is my enemy
On my own I’m so clumsy
But on Your shoulders I can see
I’m free to be me
-I like the part talking about fitting the pieces together and perfection being her enemy. In my life, that is so true! I struggle with being perfect so often. But then when I try to be perfect on my own, of course it doesn’t work! When I look to God though, I see that 1) I don’t have to be perfect and 2) He sees me as perfect, no matter how clumsy I may be. Because of those two things, it gives me a freedom to be who I am in Christ. How amazing!

Sometimes I believe that I can do anything
Yet other times I think I’ve got nothing good to bring
But You look at my heart and You tell me
That I’ve got all You seek
And it’s easy to believe
-I love this part also.It’s like the “good day/bad day” feeling. Sometimes I feel like I got it, I’ve had a good day. God must be happy with me. And other days I feel like a failure, how could God EVER love me? But that isn’t how God sees me. When I look to Him and ask me to remind me how HE sees me, He tells me that He is everything I am looking for. He tells me that He sees me as His beloved child. How amazing! And I know He has my whole life planned out. It may be scary and interesting and hard right now, but I know that all I have to do is earnestly seek Him everyday of my life and my life will turn out right and I’ll make it through somehow. How amazing.

Hannah drew this picture to go with this post. She’s crazy awesome.
free to be me pic

 

Leave a Reply

