OnlyGrace

Hope Now-Addison Road February 18, 2009

This song, Hope Now by Addison Road, is what helped to encourage me and bring my spirits up throughout the day. I don’t have the song on CD, but a lot of my schoolwork was on the computer today, so I was able to listen to it multiple times.

If everything comes down to love
Then just what am I afraid of?

–>This is such a good point. If everything comes down to love, as most things do, then why am I scared? Gr, I have no answer.
When I call out Your name
Something inside awakes in my soul
How quickly I forget I’m Yours
–>Especially today, I totally forgot that I belong to God. And really, that is what it all comes down to. I belong to God. I can mess up on my school, wake up late, get to drivers ed a few minutes late, not make it to the library-but nothing can take me from God’s hand-I am His. When I remembered, finally, to call out God’s name, to call on His mercy, grace, strength, and help, that is when my soul woke up. That is when I remembered the great truth that I am His-I belong to Him. I do not belong to my school, work, chores, books, etc.

(PRE-CHORUS)
I’m not my own
I’ve been carried by You
All my life
–> So often, for some reason, I tend to think that I own myself. I am myself. My money is mine. My time is mine. My brain is mine, and I am the one making it work. How foolish of me. I am not my own. I am His. He has blessed me with a summer job, and babysitting/cleaning jobs regularly for now. My money is not mine. God has blessed me by waking me up each morning. He allows me to work hard, and usually helps me to manage my time, that He has given me, well. My time is not my own. God has blessed me once again with a healthy, fully working brain. I am normal. I can think. I can write. I can learn. I can speak. How kind of God. My brain is not my own. I am His.  All my life, He has carried me. I have not lived 16 years on my own. I have not accomplished things alone. I have not travelled to different countries without Him. I have relied on Him, willingly or not, all my life. My life is not my own. He owns me.
(CHORUS)
Everything rides on hope now
Everything rides on faith somehow
When the world has broken me down
Your love sets me free
–> I sat about at the point of tears today. But then, I remembered. It’s all around hope. Hope that God can rescue me. Hope that I will make it through these next few days, hours, and even minutes. Hope that I get to see Him face to face one day 🙂 Hope that He will never leave me. Hope that I will be loved forever. I remembered faith. Faith that God is living. Faith that God wants my best and the best thing to glorify Him. Faith that those two things cannot be separated. Faith that God can pull me through. Faith that He will never disappoint. Today, I was defeated. Today, the world broke me down. It broke me down badly. I gave up almost. And then I remembered Hannah Yeich 🙂
“You give up, I give up.
That’s our deal.
Pinky Promise.
For Keeps.”
I almost just plopped down in bed and slept the day away, overwhelmed by life. But you know what? His love set me free. His love sets me free to love. Sets me free to learn. Set me free to apologize. Sets me free to work hard. Sets me free to hope. Sets me free to have faith. Sets me free to live for Him, always and forever.

When my life is like a storm
Rising waters all I want is the shore
You say I’ll be OK and
Make it through the rain
You are my shelter from the storm
–> Again, today was a storm. The waters rose far above my head. I wanted God to deliver me from that. I was pretty convinced that the best thing for me was to have out. God, on the other hand, apparently knew that wasn’t best for me. I don’t know why, but He does and that’s good enough for me. He was my shelter. He was my safe ground. He was my solid place. He was my shore. And I do believe that He reassured me, through His written word, that I would be okay. 

(CHORUS 2)
You’ve become my hearts desire
I will sing Your praises higher
Cause Your love sets me free
Your love sets me free
Your love sets me free
–> I love that this song does not say “You’re my hearts desire” this song says “You’ve become my hearts desire.” How perfect. God has become my desire. This morning, He was most def. not my desire. Now, through prayer and reading and listening, etc, He has become my desire. I love Him. He loves me. His love sets me free. I will sing His praises higher. I will praise so that you can no longer hear all the other praises for the other gods. How wonderful. I love my God. He sets me free.

 

2 Responses to “Hope Now-Addison Road”

  1. zoanna Says:

    I really like youir point about God becoming your desire. It is an act of the will to desire Him, and thankfully He is the one who puts the desire there to begin with!

  2. Jane Goody Says:

    Not that I’m impressed a lot, but this is a lot more than I expected for when I stumpled upon a link on SU telling that the info here is awesome. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

