OnlyGrace

Blue Like Jazz, Donald Miller, Review February 21, 2009

Filed under: books,Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 9:28 AM
Tags: , ,

I think this is a good description of Donald Miller’s book:
“Donald Miller is making an earnest attempt to witness to nonbelievers and disciple Christians, but he doesn’t distinguish between being relevant and being worldly.”

I really did enjoy this book from beginning to end. Although I do not agree with everything Miller says and believes, I agree with a good bit of it. His new perspective and fresh words and eyes were refreshing. I love learning and reading about how people think. Reading this book was a lot like reading Miller’s journal. The writing style was much different from most books, and at first I hated it. After reading it for a while though, I got used to it and kind of even liked it. Miller is also funny. He has one quote that I just love and I literally laughed out loud about. I would recomend this book. I plan on reading it again also. This time around I read it, thought about it, but didn’t fully decide if I agreed with a lot of his points. I’ll tell you this-it raised many many questions, and I think that’s a good thing. I found out I have questions I never even knew. When I read it again I want to take it much slower. I want to think about and research and decide on things. I also plan on reading “Searching for God knows what” by Donald Miller.Oh, and Blue Like Jazz is going to be made into a movie I hear. I’m not really sure how honestly, it’s not a story in any way, but I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. Overall, this was a good book. It kept my attention and made me think deeply. Best book I’ve read in a while.

Here are some quotes from the book.
“Believing in God is as much like falling in love as it is like making a decision. Love is both something that happens to you and you decide upon” (104).

 

“Your problem is not that God is not fulfilling… your problem is that you are spoiled.” (92)
“Even our beliefs have become trend statements. We don’t even believe things because we believe them anymore. We only believe things because they are cool things to believe.”

“The greatest trick of the devil…is not to get us into some sort of evil but rather have us wasting time. This is why the devil tries so hard to get Christians to be religious. If he can sink a man’s mind into habit, he will prevent his heart from engaging God.”

“‘God bless you’-what does that mean? I’ve been saying that stuff all my life, but what does that mean? I started thinking about all the crap I say. All the cliches, all the parroted slogans. I have become an infomercial for God.”


“The thing I have to work on in myself is this issue of belief. Gandhi believed Jesus when He said to turn the other cheek. Gandhi brought down the British Empire, deeply injured the caste system, and changed the world.Mother Teresa believed Jesus when He said everybody was priceless, even the ugly ones, the smelly ones, and Mother Theresa changed the world by showing them that a human being can be selfless. Peter finally believed the gospel after he got yelled at by Paul. Peter and Paul changed the world by starting small churches in godless towns.”

“There was love in Christian community, but it was conditional love. Sure, we called it unconditional, but it wasn’t. There were bad people in the world and good people in the world. We were raised to believe this. If people are bad, we treated them as though they were either evil or charity… Christianity was always right; we were always looking down on everybody else. And I hated this… with a passion. Everything in my soul told me it was wrong… I was tired of the biblical ethic being used as a tool with which to judge people rather than heal them”

(Speaking of the church) “If you wanted to be valued, you became a clone”

“By toeing the party line you earned social dollars; by being yourself you did not.”

” The problem with Christian Community was that we had ethics, we have rules and laws and principles to judge each other against.”

“To many in the church the word tolerance it profanity.”

“I had met me enemy and discovered they were not my enemy.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

