OnlyGrace

Faith inspires confidence and comfort in the midst of confusion March 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 5:26 PM
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Hey look, a real post!!!!

Today at church we had a guest speaker. His name is Ben Wikner and he was great! I would love to have him at our church again! The text he spoke about was Habakkuk 1:12-2:4

Habakkuk’s Second Complaint

 12Are you not from everlasting,
   O LORD my God, my Holy One?
   We shall not die.
O LORD, you have ordained them as a judgment,
   and you, O Rock, have established them for reproof.
13You who are of purer eyes than to see evil
   and cannot look at wrong,
why do you idly look at traitors
   and remain silent when the wicked swallows up
   the man more righteous than he?
14You make mankind like the fish of the sea,
   like crawling things that have no ruler.
15 He brings all of them up with a hook;
   he drags them out with his net;
he gathers them in his dragnet;
   so he rejoices and is glad.
16 Therefore he sacrifices to his net
   and makes offerings to his dragnet;
for by them he lives in luxury,
   and his food is rich.
17Is he then to keep on emptying his net
    and mercilessly killing nations forever?

Habakkuk 2

 1I will take my stand at my watchpost
   and station myself on the tower,
and look out to see what he will say to me,
   and what I will answer concerning my complaint.

The Righteous Shall Live by His Faith

 2And the LORD answered me:

    “Write the vision;
   make it plain on tablets,
   so he may run who reads it.
3For still the vision awaits its appointed time;
   it hastens to the end—it will not lie.
If it seems slow, wait for it;
    it will surely come; it will not delay.

 4“Behold, his soul is puffed up; it is not upright within him,
   but the righteous shall live by his faith.”

**********************************************
These are just my notes. Sorry, this post is honestly just for personal benefit mostly.
-What does you do when what you thought was God’s will is wrong- especially when you have based your life around that?
-God does bring about circumstances that upset our assumptions and expectations in order to make us more like Himself.
Faith inspires confidence and comfort in the midst of confusion
1) Faith Prays

-Faith is not afraid to ask.
-Asking difficult questions (v 13)
-Take questions about God to God
-Prayer is engaging with God.
2) Faith Waits
-It WILL come
-Waits on God
-V2 God give eternal answers
     *1) Write Vision
     *2) Make it plain and  clear on tablets
     *3) He may run who reads it
-Position self for waiting (vs. 1)
-Faith appreciates that the waiting and reply are good.
– New vision, new law
    *Gospel of Faith
-God protects us from ourselves, judgment and sin.
-What am I waiting for?
-How am I waiting? 
* With my flesh?
*Self pity?
*Anger?
*Ambition?
*Cravings
*Contention?
*Relationships?
*Addiction?
-Faith waits until appointed time
3) Faith Saves
-Faith transforms out focus from down to up
-Faiths transforms our focus off out circumstances and onto God
-Faith takes takes our eyes off of others
-Faith puts out faith in God
-What am I depending on?
-Psalm 73 and 75
-Faith orients us
-God has acted
-God will act
-How has God acted in my life recently?
-We are called by faith to faith
-Faith informed by the gospel
-How’s my faith today?
-Am I struggling for faith? I should be!!
“God, increase my faith!!!”
**************************************************
Well, that’s all my notes. Go to www.gracecommunity.org
and you can find the message to listen to. I’d advise you too-it’s really good.

 

2 Responses to “Faith inspires confidence and comfort in the midst of confusion”

  1. Ex Back Says:

    Not that I’m impressed a lot, but this is a lot more than I expected for when I found a link on SU telling that the info is quite decent. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

