OnlyGrace

Psalm 15:1-4 March 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 8:27 AM
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Just a few verses I have been thinking about recently.
A question is asked, and he also gives the answer to that question. I’ve highlighted the answer. This is how I want to choose to live. These verses challenge my intergity (vs 4B), my speech (2b, 3b), as well as my actions (2a, 3a). I cannot say that, of the 9 things I highlighted that I am perfect, or near perfect, at any of them. Blameless, righteous. Those are two hard things. Blameless-without blame. That means without blame for anything. Not even one thing. Righteous-morally right. I’m not always, or ever, blameless. I’m not morally right in general. I could go on and on point by point with all nine things, but I wont. Rather than lingering over all the sin I can see, I want to instead work on changing that. Staring at bread, peanut butter, and jelly will not make a sandwich. You have to do something about it. And that’s what I plan to do 🙂

Psalm 15: 1-4

 1 LORD, who may dwell in your sanctuary?
       Who may live on your holy hill?

 2 He whose walk is blameless
       and who does what is righteous,
       who speaks the truth from his heart

 3 and has no slander on his tongue,
       who does his neighbor no wrong
       and casts no slur on his fellowman,

 4 who despises a vile man
       but honors those who fear the LORD,
       who keeps his oath
       even when it hurts,

 

2 Responses to “Psalm 15:1-4”

  1. Steve Says:

    Funny, I was just reading through this Psalm in a chapter Disciplines of a Godly Man on integrity. The absolute words are powerful. “blameless,” “righteous,” “no slander,” “no wrong,” “no slur,” and then, “keeps his oath even when it hurts.” So convicting! What a bar to strive for. Thank God we have a Substitute in Jesus Christ who lived Psalm 15 perfectly so we can have his achievement!


Leave a Reply

