OnlyGrace

Little is Much-Downhere April 4, 2009

I am so blessed. I wake up everyday in a warm home, in a warm bed, with a closet full of clothes, a nice room that I have to myself, with family and friends. When I’m hungry, there is always food to eat in my house. I am blessed to have babysitting and cleaning jobs right now to make some extra cash. I’m blessed to have a summer job. I’m blessed to have a education. Some people are not so blessed in this way. Some people, they don’t have a family. Some people, they dont have a home. Some people dont have an abundance of clothing. Some people dont have money or a job. Some people don’t even have food. That’s where Sarah’s Hope comes in. It’s a women and childrens shelter in Baltimore City. They house and feed women and children of all ages. I’ve had the chance to go down there once on a Sunday night with some people from my church and serve dinner. It was great. The children were so sweet and the parents were so thankful. All the staff at Sarah’s Hope was so nice! I haven’t been able to go down there again (yet), but plan to in the summer when things are less hectic. For now though, I have found another way to serve the women and children of Sarah’s Hope. I went to Aldi’s, brought $25 and got some food. My church is serving dinner there Sunday, so I’m going to send the food with them. I e-mailed Mr. Connor, the Director, and he told me they needed childrens like after school snacks, fruit, fruit cups, cookies, brownies, sugar, white bread, and a couple other things. I was able to get so much for my money. It made me so glad to get those things knowing that this is a real need that will be met. I’m so blessed to be able to bless others in this way. Doing this put me in such a good mood. I talked to some woman at the grocery store who I let in front of me in line. She talked about her elbow and how she cant balance and she had cancer and her insurance wont renew unless she stops smoking, etc, etc. I think it really blessed her that I just listened. I’m blessed to be able to bless others in this way. At Aldi, you have to put a quarter in to get a cart, but you get it back when you put your cart back (that way people dont steal carts). When I went to put mine back an older man was getting a cart. I gave him mine. He offered me a quarter in return since I wasn’t going to be able to get my quarter back since I gave him my cart with the quarter in it. I insisted that he keep it and told him to have a nice day. I hope that that blessed him. I’m so blessed to be able to bless others in this way! I got a slurpee and as I was getting back into my car, I saw a homeless man on the corner. I’m blessed with money, so I bought him a donut and soda. It was all of $2. I gave it to him and he had a huge smile-maybe he really was homeless? I’m blessed to be able to bless others. Today has just been a great day that I’m thankful to God for. He’s blessed me so much by allowing me to bless others. I’m so thankful and happy right now 🙂

Anyway, on the way home, driving with my music up and windows down, I heard this song. I love it. It was perfect because sometimes I feel like I’m too young, too little, too incompetant, etc. for God to use me. But that’s not true. Just by running to the store to get some food with the money God blessed me with, I am able to plant seeds. Listen to the song real fast and look at the lyrics.

 

http://www.tangle.com/view_video.php?viewkey=5391a7790087cbb5fc3e

Lyrics to Little Is Much :
What is the measure of a life well lived
If all I can offer seems too small to give
This is a song for the weaker, the poorer
And so-called failures

Little is much when God’s in it
And no one can fathom the plans He holds
Little is much when God’s in it
He changes the world with the seeds we sow
Little is much, little is much

Who feels tired and under-qualified
Who feels deserted, and hung out to dry
This is a song for the broken, the beat-up
And so-called losers

Consider a Kingdom in the smallest seed
Consider that giants fall to stones and slings
Consider a child in a manger
Consider the story isn’t over
What can be done with what you still have

 

4 Responses to “Little is Much-Downhere”

  1. […] HonckelKids added an interesting post on Little is Much-DownhereHere’s a small excerptIt’s a women and childrens shelter in Baltimore City. They house and feed women and children of all ages. I’ve had the chance to go down… […]

  2. […] reddy2007 created an interesting post today on Little is Much-DownhereHere’s a short outlineI wake up everyday in a warm home, in a warm bed, with a closet full of clothes, a nice room that I have to myself, with family and friends. […]

  3. zoanna Says:

    Glad you’re getting “a education.” Just kidding.

    If you ever want to go up to BB’s with Sarah and/or me to get
    food for Sarah’s Hope, let me know. She likes to go up there about every five or six weeks and stock up on grab-n’-go snacks and breakfast bars plus other stuff. We can fill a cart to overflowing for 150 bucks, so I’m sure your 25 will go much farther than even at Aldi’s. Another place close to me is DJ Liquidators. It’s in the Gabe’s shopping ctr on 924. I get breakfast bars for 10 -25 cents each!

  4. came across your blog on accident (lol) but i like your writing 🙂


Leave a Reply

