OnlyGrace

Thoughts about this amazing weekend. April 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 2:42 PM

It’s Good Friday. This is my favorite “holiday” and the Good Friday service at my church is always my most favorite of the whole entire year! I’m excited because this year I’m going to my churches sister church. My friend Steve is doing a short sermon there tonight and I wanted to go hear it! I hear they have some awesome things planned for the service tonight. I love this time of year because it’s spring and nice and fun. I love this holiday because it’s a set aside time to remember my Savior, what He did for me. I remember how God gave up His son for me. He showed me the most love anyone could ever show. When I doubt that God loves me, doubt that He has my best interest at heart, doubt that I am His child, I just look at the cross. So often I take advantage of my salvation. I know, that’s so wrong. It makes me sad. But I do it nonetheless. This time of year really causes me to think about it. And I feel like I can stay in this place for a while. Usually I move from the cross quickly to the resurrection and the good news that Jesus rose. But I like that there are three days between Good Friday and Easter. It makes me be able to stay at this place of contemplation, of thinking about what Jesus did for me. I think about where I would be without Him dying. I think about the love shown. I think about the pain Jesus went through–all for me. I think about the pain the Father went through–to save me. I think about all those things for three days. THEN I move on to Jesus’ resurrection. It really is a time to refocus myself and my mind on what’s important and lovely and truthful. I love this season so much.

On another note, this is an awesome weekend. It’s spring break still, most of my SB homework is done, and it’s warm outside! Wednesday after work my sister and I ran for 50 minutes and a total of 3.6 miles! It took me 50 minutes, and I want to get that time down to 48 minutes or less by race time, but I have almost a month to do that. I did not stop running for the entire 50 minutes, even though I was running at a very slow pace. I was so proud of myself and the progress I’m making–especially because of the fact that I really shouldn’t run because of the pain in my hips and knees, haha. Oh well. I ran the next day, but only 1.2 miles and I ran it in just 10 minutes! I was very proud of myself! I think I was able to run it so quickly (for me anyway..) because I knew that I was only running 1.2 miles so I was able to tell myself not to slow down because I only had a little further to go. Now if I could just do that pace for three miles, I’d be in good shape!!! My sister and I took the kids she nannies (ages 4, 6, and 10, two boys and a girl, respectively) and my siblings (6, 13, and 11, 2 boys and a girl, respectively) to Chick-Fil-A and then to Ritas. It was crazy! 6 kids and two adults! We had two vehicles and 3 car seats. Crazy! In just a little while, my sister and I are going to go running again (I’ve really gotten her into it!) and then I get to go to the good Friday service at my friends church service! Easter should be pretty chill, just having the family (and siblings boyfriends/housemates) over to our house for the holiday. Usually we have my mom’s side of the family over, but most of them have actually died this past year, so it will be just my family. it’s kind of nice, honestly. It will already be about 14 people with just my family + boy/girlfriends + housemates. I’m excited. So it’s shaping up to be an awesome weekend 😀

I hope you’re enjoying the time that we get to reflect about our Savior’s death. It’s sobering and beautiful.  It makes my heart melt in gratefulness. There are sooooo many songs I could close with, but I’ll leave you with the lyrics of this “FEE” song.

I never knew death could be so sweet
I never knew surrender could feel so free
I never seen such meekness in majesty
That the blood of Jesus was bled for me

And now I sing freedom for all my days
It’s only by the power of the cross I’m raised
The King of Glory rescued me

How beautiful the blood flow
How merciful the love show
The King of glory poured out
Victorious are we now

Never knew through these nails would love unfold
And never knew these wounds would heal my soul
I’ve never seen such beauty and sorrow meet
The blood of Jesus was bled for me

 

One Response to “Thoughts about this amazing weekend.”

  1. Gerri Says:

    Hello there, Happy Easter!


Leave a Reply

