OnlyGrace

Death, where is your sting? April 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 9:34 PM

I woke up today feeling great. I was up kind of late talking to a friend on the phone. I didn’t mind that I was up a little late because I was planning on sleeping in a little bit since I hadn’t had much sleep the night before and I don’t have school Wednesdays. I woke up feeling like I had slept for 15 hours. It was great. I had babysat last night and the children were awesome, so it was a good night overall.
Waking up, and the weather, were the only good things. Shortly after waking up, I found out that one of the children from work lost her father last night. He was 43 I believe. He was riding his bike with a friend when a car hit the two of them. The child’s father died at the moment and the friend is in critical care. Mr. Bensky was an avid rider, really. He loved to bike. Read one of the many reports by clicking here.  I was so upset. This little girl has a cute personality and is very sweet. She’s outspoken and a little crazy, but very loved. Her dad picked her up regularly from after-care. I was devastated when I heard the news. I wanted to cry so badly. It’s one of those things that you would never guess or expect. When it’s your time, it’s your time. Mr. Bensky was so nice and it’s such a great loss. It was hard because my dad is a biker too. I immediately went downstairs and told my dad and urged him to be careful and asked him to wear a helmet from now on (not that i think he will, but it was worth a try). It was extremely hard for me to process. There have been too many deaths recently and it scares me so much. It was really hard for me to accept this death and deal with it. The people at my job were all talking about it and reading the articles and mourning his death and talking about how to help the family. It was so sad, still. I believe this is because no one at work, that I know of, is a Christian. It was such a hard thing to understand because there was no hope. He’s dead, now what? The teachers and staff were saddened, but it was different. I have never had to deal with a death while surrounded by unbelievers. It was really hard. I didn’t know what was next. I am not to judge the standing of this man’s soul, but I don’t think he was a believer. How sad. The family, they don’t seem to know the hope of the Gospel. My workplace was very dark. Not as much because of my co-workers and all, but more so because the staff of the school was just so sad. I wanted to remember everything I believe, but it was so hard. There weren’t people reminding me of the truths I know and hold to firmly and it was so hard to try to speak out at a time like that. People don’t ever want to be preached to, and especially not at a time like that. But it really is hard. I think of the children the father left behind. Gabby is just seven. How do you console a 7 year old? How do you tell her that daddy isn’t coming home? And much less, how do you tell that to a 3 year old. I am sad for that child, the one who will probably hardly remember her daddy. Oh, how my heart hurts for them. The mother is now left to raise the children on her own. I don’t know the mother well, she’s only picked up Gabby a couple of times, but I can’t imagine the pain she is experiencing. I just wish and prays she will comes to know that joy and hope that is the Gospel. I am having a hard time, but I pray that God will show me good that comes out of this because right now it’s really hard to see. I know that God has something coming from this. I just pray and ask God that He will allow me to have a peek and see a little bit of what He is going to do through this situation. I need my faith to be restored, God. Please be praying for me and with me for the Bensky family. This is a rough time for their whole family. Thanks. . .

p.s. I had more things I was gonna talk about in this post. I’ll just do it at another time, however. I’m tired and have a long day tomorrow. Maybe this weekend I can post my thoughts 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

