OnlyGrace

81 DAYS! April 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 10:56 AM

Hey all.
So, I had a China meeting Sunday so wanted to give you an update. First, tons of prayer requests:
-We’re trying to get a certain fund raiser together. It’s hard so far. We’re doing well with trying to get it together, but we aren’t sure if we’re gonna be able to do it. I want to and think it would be awesome. So pray that we can get things worked out so we can put on this fundraiser.

-Plane tickets. Prices are rising RAPIDLY. We have a deal, but only if we get things together VERY quickly. So, pray that we will have the funds and details worked out so we can get this cheaper price and maybe even have a little money left over from each of us raising the funds if we can get these ticket prices discounted. If we can get the ticket price we have a deal with, then we will have about $4,000 I think to donate to China or to use to buy supplies to bring.

-Focus! It’s really hard to stay focused when we are thinking about all these logistical things right now. I want to keep the right focus, even when it’s hard. I keep thinking about myself and I want to stop. It’s a privilege for me to go on this trip. God is blessing me with this opportunity, really! It’s a huge blessing! I need to remember God’s goodness to me for allowing me to go on this trip.

-Funds. We are at about 40% of our grand total, but we want to be able to bring $12,000 extra to bless the foster home with. Some people have their total amount in, but some people are really struggling. I’m about halfway, thank God. I still have a long way to go. Luckily we have lots of fundraising opportunities (check the post below and TRADE ME TO CHINA). But I know that the money part of the trip is really testing a lot of people’s faith. It’s good, though. I am excited to see what cool things God will do to bring in the funds. This is another area where we need focus. It’s a blessing to be able to raise funds. It blesses other people when they give. Some families who give are really stretching their faith because they aren’t really able to give to us. It’s blessing them to test their faith. It’s blessing me to grow in humility–I can’t be shy about asking, because it’s a blessing. It’s just an area where we have to stop thinking about ourselves.

-Medicines. We are hoping to bring a variety of medicines to the foster home. They really need medicines and we will, hopefully, be able to bring meds to last them until late spring when their next batch of groups comes to serve there. So pray that our connections will work and we will be able to bless them with lots of medical supplies.

-Health. We all need to be healthy to go to China when the time comes. Especially pray against fevers. With the H1N1 scare, it would not be good if we got fevers. So please pray for good health.

-Shots. We don’t have any required shots. Some people would like to get a few that are suggested, such as Hep A. We aren’t doing this as a team, so pray that those who want the shot will be able to get it and not break their banks.

-Passports. Some people are waiting on their passports. This is really important because we need those to get plane tickets or something like that (i’m not good with all the details [; ) So pray those come asap!!

-Visas. We will be getting our visas in a few short weeks. Pray in advance that everything goes smoothly, please!

-Faith. This is self-explanatory. WE NEED FAITH.

-VBS. We may be able to do a VBS. This is the first time, so it would be SUPER exciting. The thing is, we just found this out. We leave in 81 days. This is REALLY short to put together and organize and learn and etc. for a VBS–especially one that will have to face the language barrier issue. When I went to India we did a VBS. I played a part in it, but I did not lead it in anyway, haha. Now, with China, we need someone to lead it. It’s a big job. Without a leader, we will not do the VBS. I think it would be AMAZING to do a VBS. But, it would be a TON of planning and it would be hard for me to try to lead it. I could definitely use our India VBS, but I would definitely have to adapt it. Mr. Dan asked that we pray about being the point person. I think God wants me to. I don’t know how much I want to. I’m willing to  and I DO want to, I just am scared as anything. I like to lead, but it would be hard. You gotta figure out/teach the team music, skits, crafts, etc. It’s just a lot. Plus there are four classes so each lesson would be done 4 times. I am praying and kind of hoping God just makes it clear to me what I’m supposed to. My fellow team member, Heather, told me she would be really interested in being a key helper with the VBS if I was willing to be the point person. Hopefully I can make that decision in the next couple days. Please pray with me.

Those are all the prayer requests I can think of at the current time. I’m getting more excited as the time approaches. I’m also excited to move out of logistics talk and into team bonding and such.

 

Leave a Reply

