OnlyGrace

School: Week One January 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — beyondtheoutside @ 9:51 PM

I hope to do weekly posts about school stuff. No promises, of course.

Wednesday: School was supposed to start Wednesday. I was to have one class 1-215 and then go right to work. Well, because of the snow, we have a delay and opened at 10am. We wound up closing at 4pm (good call). The school I work at was closed so I didn’t have work that day. I had my 1pm class. It was Chinese Writing (studying the writing of the Chinese and their cultures…not like how to write in Chinese…). It’s a 200 level Honors class. I like all things China, love the professor and it fit in my schedule. It’s a TOUGH class! This week we were assigned 59 pages in the History of China book, about 30 in the Anthology of Chinese Lit., the introduction to the Analects, and a 3-4 page paper. Oh, and we have a quiz on the readings on Monday! SO, it’s TONS of reading! It’s hard for me to want to work really hard in classes that are not part of my core curricula. Like, I am interested in this and I know some of it will help me in general and I’m sure I’ll improve my writing skills, but still. It’s just a lot of work for something that I don’t feel like is absolutely necessary. But, I have learned a lot from the readings this week. We have four papers but only have to do 3 of them (that does not include the paper we wrote this weekend. That makes 5). We must rewrite one of our papers for a whole new grade, but we can choose to rewrite two if we want. We have scheduled reading quizzes. They’re just a few questions, but quizzes nonetheless. We also have a final, but she says we get to make it up. We have a midterm that is open book/note. It’s a hard course for me also because I am terrible at interpreting writing that is better categorized as art, such as poetry. We analyzed 2 poems or writings on Wednesday. It was so hard for me. I like writers to say things straight forward. I do not want to guess what they were trying to say. I’m afraid I’ll think it’s something different from what they meant, and that’s just awful in my eyes. So it’s hard on many levels. Oh, and I am scared that Dr. Shields will make us do a writing in the styles we’re reading. That absolutely terrifies me. Dr. Shields is awesome though and she knows SO much about the topic, speaks Chinese, has her doctorate in something Chinese, has been there a couple times, and has written 2 books (well one is being written) about China stuff. So it’s good and bad. Good because she’s knowledgeable, but bad because she is so passionate that she can rant a little bit. But that’s okay. Anyway, that’s that.
It was also really nice to see my friends again now that the semester is back up. I’ve had time to be away from them and I missed them a lot. I am also refreshed this semester. I am ready for new things, more work, etc. So yeah, that’s that.

 

Thursday: Again, it was snowy. I went to one of my four classes because the others were canceled. It was a sociology class (my minor). I am taking 3 sociology classes and I took one previously. That means that after this semester I have one class to complete until I finish my minor!!! I am taking issues of health care. I LOVE this class. It’s a 300 level class. The teacher is adjunct and he only teaches this one class. He works at the school though so he is really accessible during the day. He works doing some sort of health care policy stuff, so he is really knowledgeable in the topic. There are like 80+ people in the class. Many people were absent due to the snow. We barely had enough seats to fit those who were in class, so we may need to switch rooms because there are just so many people and not enough seats. But so the teacher said since it’s a 300 level class it’s all juniors and seniors (but not me…). He said because of that, he does not take attendance or really care if you come to class. It’s your choice and as juniors and seniors there is no need for that kind of structure for us to succeed. So, we can come to class if we want or choose not to attend. He also does not have a required text. Everything is online. That’s AWESOME. I printed the stuff offline and it’s way less than 100 pages! For the whole semester! So that’s amazing. We have 4 quizzes, worth 120 points each. There are 12 questions worth 10 pts. They are basic and just to make sure we’re following the general stuff of the class. So you only need to get 10 right to get 100. Also, get this…He drops your lowest quiz grade! So you essentially have 360 points to work with and only need 300 to get 100% and you only need to get 270 to get 90% on the quizzes (90-100% is an A). So, that’s awesome. I could lose 90 points and get an A, if I did my math correctly (which is highly improbable). So, that’s great. There is also a group project but it’s pretty simple 7-10 minutes, 3-5 people, 6-7 ppt slides. Totally doable. Plus, the final is based off of everyone’s presentations, which will also be posted online so we can review them. I don’t remember him saying we have a midterm. Oh, and the class is 1-215 but he said he does his best to get us out by 2 and rarely keeps us longer. He has no curve or extra credit, but that’s okay. So, it looks like a good class. PLUS, I am really interested in this topic simply because I don’t know very much about it. I feel like as an adult and human and social-worker-in-progress I need to learn the basics of health care, insurance, etc. I am excited 🙂 Oh, and this is the biggest class I have every been in so that is a little intimidating. I like to be in small classes and I REALLY like the teacher to know who I am because it makes me more comfortable and I don’t mind asking questions and…I don’t know. I just have this thing about it. So hopefully I can still get to know him even with the big class size. Oh, and it’s good he lets us out early cuz I go right to work from that class so it gives me a few more minutes to get to my car and stuff.
Thursday night I went to CRU with my friend Steve, who just transferred to UMBC. So we had a good time there. I was a little disappointed that the speaker did not share the gospel, but it was a good sermon nonetheless. He spoke on John 3:16. We met a lot of people and that was fun. I hope to get involved with the weekly prayer group to pray for the campus and stuff.

SO, that’s most of this week. I don’t have Friday classes. I had work, and that was nice to get out finally.

This semester has already shown to be challenging. Not only academically, but spiritually and mentally. I’m having troubles a bit already. It’s hard to be involved in my care group, singles ministry, church stuff, and school. It’s a delicate balance. So I’m working on it. I’m also just facing a lot more temptation this semester at school. I’m letting my guard down. If I don’t keep a close eye on my life, I am not going to stand firm in my faith. As the writer of Hebrews told the Hebrews, “therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it.” The Hebrews were straying from the truth they have once known. I don’t want to be like that. I don’t want to have to get a letter from a teacher telling me to pay closer attention to what I’ve learned because I have strayed. Not the life for me. So I’m trying not to let myself go through a slow fade. It’s so easy. So, that’s part of this week. I also want to share so badly about Tuesday, but I just don’t have time. I have to vacuum then go to bed. I plan to start back up running this week, so I have to get up early and go running for a little bit (if it doesn’t seem too icy) before a meeting, lunch, and then class and homework then class and then dinner and then a meeting. So, that’s enough for now (1500 words later…)

 

Leave a Reply

